Fly Like An Eagle


Well, an interesting start to the day. I don't usually drive anywhere at the weekend but yesterday I took the car 2 miles to Tesco and 2 miles back. It started to drive really roughly and kept cutting out. So this morning I thought I'd drop it off at the garage and get the bus to work. I looked up the timetable online and set off. I waited, letting another more expensive indirect bus go, and waited. The bus I was waiting for only runs every two hours after 9am so I had to get the next indirect, dearer, bus and go via the town and out again. I got to work at 10.40 and decided to email the bus company. I looked up the timetable so that I had the right information ... nothing there ... looked again .... timetable gone. It seems the 631 bus service has been discontinued from today. Bummer.

So, I got to work late, it cost me £8.10 for the day and because I was late I had to miss my Combat class at lunchtime. I was pretty annoyed to say the least but hey ho, what can you do?

However, I spotted this fella in the car park. He's called Arran, a Harris Hawk, and he's going to be visiting a couple of times a week to discourage gulls from nesting on our office roof. I went to admire him and was able to stroke him. Lovely.

So in order to put some perspective to things and as a reminder not to get bogged down in what's not so going so well, no matter how small, I had a little think about it and made myself balance up good things verus bad (copyright Dotty although she only does the good'uns).


Bad things:
Car ignition problems, especially when you're skint
Bus service withdrawals
Cat knocking on bedroom window at 5am to get in, despite having catflap
3 mice livers in hallway when you get up in the morning

Good things
Discovering car problem on Sunday - not breaking down on Queensferry Rd at rush-hour on Monday!
Getting up close and personal with a hawk.




Fly Like An Eagle - Steve Miller Band

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.