The spider and the bee

A busy day with not much time for photography.  I went up to check on our neighbour's house and took the camera just in case I spotted something.  I took some shots of daisies in his garden.  Saw the bee on this daisy when I uploaded the shot, but I didn't notice the Goldenrod Crab Spider until I zoomed in on the bee - surprise!  I think the spider is having the bee for lunch. Apparently this particular kind of spider doesn't spin webs but waits in a fresh blossom for its prey and especially likes wasps and bees.  When an insect comes close enough, the spider grabs it with its strong front legs and immediately eats it. 
I really cropped the photo and it's not great. I have seen this kind of spider before but never enjoying a meal, so I decided to blip it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.