Doyley22

By Doyley22

AGAVE

We have an Agave in our garden which is in the process of flowering.
Apparently they take about ten years to flower and then the plant dies.
What a life.
I have been hankering to take a snap of it however, the one we have here is too awkward to photograph instead, I rode my bike around the path to another three that are in flower.  
When I arrived there were a couple of New Holland Honeyeaters on the one in flower.  By the time I had the camera out, they were gone.
The bees were crazy at the plant and when they would land on the stamens, the stamen would swivel, swirling the poor bee upside down.  Talk about gymnastics for bees. 
The large photo is of the main part of the flower and plant - I hope you gain some idea.
When I decided to head home, I turned around and there were the honeyeaters on the very end of the yet to open Agave flower.  I hardly moved and with the wrong lens caught something of them.  I loved the look on the one to the right as he watches the honeyeater fly past.  What fun they were having. 
No Mono today - I wanted to capture this and post before more rain, wind and whatever comes our way.  It has been delightful to have the rain.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.