What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Fawkesian

Happy Bonfire Night everyone!

Went to Midsummer Common for Cambridge's fireworks display for the first time since I've been here - usually there's NaNo stuff on in refreshingly quiet drinking/eating establishments as everyone's here! I went there with a few friends (you can see the efforts of owenf, summertea and st3f on their journals) and we had a very nice time watching the display - and happily I actually did (while managing 200 photos in the meantime!)

Of the bundle I shot this is my favourite for two reasons:
1). The crowd / trees / houses all being lit up by the power of the fireworks!
2). Straight out of the camera, I kid you not - mucking around with shutter speeds works out fantastically sometimes!

My only complaint is that the focus is more on the crowd than the fireworks, but I do like the sharper edges in the silhouettes, so it's a win-win really!


Moving / NaNo-ing mean I'm a little all over the place at the moment - there are boring, moving-related backBlips to come; I think I'll leave the fireworks up in the meantime (all the boring ones I may amass may have to wait until December!)


Day 5; 2,882 words written; 47,118 words remaining

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.