Surprise

A nice one this morning!  

I've been watching the buds on several lilies for several weeks now.  The martagons seem to take forever to fully develop and will open while Jamie and I are away ... soon.  However this Lilium monadelphum flower has developed more quickly and I was delighted to see it open for the first time in the early sunshine this morning.  Raised from seed sown in 2012, it's a baby yet, just over a foot tall with a single flower.  They can reach four feet and have many flowers per stem.  After years of nursing it in a pot I planted it out last year more in desperation than expectation.  A nice surprise :-)

Took Jacinta out for lunch and she drove home afterwards, another step on the road to recovery.  The rest of the day has been about chores and planning/packing for the trip Jamie and I are off on tomorrow.  Oh, and baking a cake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.