Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Dolores backdrop is DONE

I sprayed the final "wings" with a material that is supposed to help prevent fade. Then tonight I finished installing the photo backdrop for the layout I had finished the rear wall before in another blip, but tonight I added the right and left sides to complete the backdrop. All that is left is to put a few nails into the wall to keep things in place - tomorrow when the neighbors are awake.

I placed several of my foam core/photoshop buildings in their places just to begin to show how the backdrop becomes less evident. All of these buildings will eventually be scratch built - no kits are available. Actually scratch building is more fun anyway. You build a base with black foam-core, then apply the wall material and windows, etc. from excellent plans drawn by a great modeler Mike Blazek. Plenty of trees and shrubs are needed along the wall to complete the transition. The trees have foliage that match the photo as far as color so hopefully they will meld together.

Next step - balasting the rest of the track and finishing my gravel/dirt roads. Then I can clean the track and run some trains. This will still be awhile but it is getting closer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.