Tiny Tuesday - "Favourite"

Jensphotos (thanks Jen) has suggested that we blip a photo of something which is dear to us, a favourite thing, for today's TT challenge.

This is the hallmark on my wedding ring - what could be more dear to me than the symbol of our 37-year (and counting!) marriage to my favourite person in the world?

There's a story here too. About 3 weeks after our wedding, I lost my ring (calamity!!). Happily it turned up a few days later. On a cold morning, when my fingers were cold and a little shrunken, it must have dropped off onto the floor of my MGB when I reached down for the handbrake. Phew - marriage saved!!  ;-))

PS. Following Jen's comment below, I thought it would be good if I looked up what the hallmark means. It seems that "HLB" is the initials of the person sending the item for hallmarking (that makes sense, it came from a jeweller called H Brown). The rose-like symbol shows it was hallmarked at the Sheffield assay office (Browns were a Sheffield jeweller). The crown symbol confirms that it's gold, and the "750" means it's 18 carat. The letter at the end indicates the year it was assayed - I think "e" is 1977; it was bought in 1981 so that makes sense.

Hallmarking is said to be Europe's oldest form of consumer protection, dating from the days of Louis IX of France and Edward I of England, in the 13th Century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.