just testing

Dan has really bonded with his Olympus EM5 Mk2.  He’s also bonded with my 25mm f1.8 lens (50mm focal length in Full Frame lingo).  I’ve got it back now as he now has his own and uses it exclusively.  The big fat zoom that came with the camera body is in a cupboard.

I’m really impressed with Dan’s approach; he’s not had a camera before and is hungry to learn.  He’s turned the rear screen off so he just uses the viewfinder and has set the camera to manual exposure and manual focus “it looks like an old film camera so I want to use it like that” he says, “it’s the only way I’m going to learn”.

And he’s learning fast; he got the exposure triangle and the ‘sunny sixteen’ rule in about 10’.  He likes not having a zoom lens on the camera - it’s given him an insight into composition and perspective.  

But there will come a time when he needs more that the viewpoint provided by the standard lens.  Yesterday I found a mint condition Panasonic 14mm f2.5 lens (28mm FF) on fleaBay for a good price and it arrived this morning. It's tiny and will fit in a shirt pocket (he doesn't yet have a camera bag). I gave it a quick test on my camera before he gets home.

I’m looking forward to seeing what he does with it.  In the meantime Anniemay and I are having a lot of fun helping him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.