Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Southwold's heavy horses

Back blipped.

The small town of Southwold has always been associated in my mind with heavy horses.  The largest employers, Adnams Brewery, always used to have a magnificent pair of grey Percherons - Sam and Monarch -  to make deliveries to local pubs.  Sadly they were stood down in 2006. 

However, when I was there this Saturday I found someone (local farmer presumably) had concluded that farming tourists was a good trick and was giving rides, to all who would pay for them, behind his beautiful black shires.  So of course I couldn't not blip them, nor could I resist a slightly old-fashioned treatment for this image, which I feel could have been taken any time in the last 100 years.

I've posted a colour Extra in which you can see some of the flags and bunting put up for Saturday's 'Trooping the Colour'.

I've pretty well got through the catch-up of your lovely journals - so much good stuff I feel like I've been away for a month.  All I have to do now is finish sorting the rest of my weekend images - and thank you very much indeed for your kind welcome back and the starts and hearts :))

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.