Favourite things

This crumpled up - and rapidly deteriorating - £1 note has sat in my wallet since June1986. I collected it on a Treasure Hunt in Leicestershire - since the £1 coin had been introduced in 1983 the £1 note had been disappearing from circulation, so finding one in a pub completed the things we had been asked to do for this particular quiz.

At the time Margaret Thatcher was PM, Ronald Reagan was US President, Patti LaBelle topped the charts, and I worked in Leicester. Typists used keyboards in the office, not anyone else, and the remains of Richard III sat safely under a public car park not far from where I worked (the modern building I worked in was demolished in a spectacular controlled explosion a couple of years ago). I could go on .......

A lot has happened whilst this piece of paper has sat in my wallet. My attachment to it is ridiculous really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.