EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

A day of choices

Early morning walk up to the dunes. Up at the highest point, on sandy soil amidst prickly Scottish Broom plants and hardly any fresh green, all of a sudden Maggie was carrying this baby rabbit in her mouth. I couldn’t see where she had picked it up, but she let go of it willingly. We put it back near where we thought it came from and continued the walk. On the way back it was still sitting on the same spot like a little pile of misery.
So now I sprung into action and decided to carry it home to our lush green lawn.
There it turned out to be too young to eat grass. I mixed some cream with lots of water and it seemed to like it and became more lively. I had to make a little box for it and it felt quite comfy in it.
Meanwhile I tried to get information about rabbit babies. The first shock was to learn that I should never have taken it.the mother does not abandon the babies (if she would be alive) but com at night in the dark and call for it.
If I wouldn’t want to feed the baby every hour with my made up mixture, it would die out in our lush garden.
So, keep and feed?
Put it in our garden and hope for the best?
Or drive the whole way back and walk all the way up to the dunes again try to put it on its old spot and hope for mama to come?
That was what we ended up doing.
Now I am here, knowing that I fed it one more time before leaving, that I left it with some of the milk and some fresh grass from our yard. Still I have the feeling that I choose the wrong thing to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.