Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Blues and Twos

I had seen two images of small pearl-bordered fritillaries posted on Fb from central Scotland. That prompted me to head out to where I photographed such a butterfly last year.
No luck with that but I did witness the courtship dance of a pair of common blues. The dance comprised the female flying randomly about a localised area while the male attempted to mirror her moves but around 4" (10cm) directly below her. Occasionally, they would land a short distance apart before taking off again.
After about 10 - 15 minutes, it culminated in the expected pairing which is the subject of my blip. The female is on the left.

A big thank you to everyone who commented/starred/hearted my blips over the last few days. Sorry I haven't had time to comment individually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.