Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Two miles up

We started out early to go to Rocky Mountain National Park to hike at the Bear Lake area.  By 8am when we got there the park ranger said the parking lot for the area was already full..too many people in the park for that so we just drove on the Trail Ridge Road.   We found a little hike area which was at 9000ft elevation..we could barely maintain a pace resembling walking.   I am still plagued by this summer cold so it was really tough for me.  As Jerry said "I can feel my heart beating in my nose!"   I know my heart was pounding too!  

So we just drove around to the west side of the park.  The mountains are so pretty.  I was kind of disappointed as last time we were here there were clouds and mist which made for some dramatic photos.    I did like this area of snow that has not melted yet..and may not.   

We found another hiking trail at a lower elevation along where we were able to walk about 3 miles.  Then off the Granby to stop by to share a quick lunch with Pipersmom (Elaine) and her hubby Ed at their rv site on the lake.    So good to see her even if it was for short time.

We are now at our destination.  Tomorrow will be work day for Jerry to do some hunting things.     But there are always creeks and mountians!

Thanks for the comments and stars on previous days blips.   I just can't make time to respond.    I hope to glance through todays blips to leave some stars.   

In the extra is a little chipmunk eating a dandelion..who knew they did that?!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.