Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Fronds, not enemies

Sorry, bad pun, but I couldn't help myself.

Another stroll with the dogs in the Valley tonight, this time up the hill from our place and a jaunt in the evening sun. Bit nippy mind, but it was very nice to blow the cobwebs of the day away.

Noisy on the bird front up there, the usual suspects. Bellbird, Grey Warblers, Shining Cuckoos, Yellowhammers and fantails punctuated by magpie screeching and keruru wing beats.

Every time I'm further up the hill I'm always on the look out for NZ Falcons too. I'e seen Karearea up there once or twice, but they seem to be quite reclusive.

Last year, just past where I took this image, I found a jewelled gecko. Again, a pretty reclusive little thing, but you'll be surprised what's on your doorstep if you take the time to have a good look...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.