Watching baby tits learning how to eat

This bird feeding tray is just outside our back door leading down to the garden. I hadn't been adding food to it for some months as the squirrels tend to monopolise it. But having watched the number of birds, both parents and their many young, feeding quite ravenously from the food I've been providing recently, I decided to use this tray.

The small and mostly blue tits, with an occasional coal tit, have been very successfully breeding this spring. I have been delighted when watching them at close quarters in the trees and shrubs close to the house. This particular young one really appealed as it just stood looking at me even as I approached it with my camera.

It stayed on the tray for a long time, hopping in and out of the main bowl, and back onto the rim. It seemed to be learning how to break through the shell of the seed using its feet to trap the seed and then pecking with its beak to expose the soft core. At one point a parent landed on the tray and picked up a seed in front of this tit, and then showed it the whole process, probably for the umpteenth time. It then jumped onto the rim and shoved the exposed seed into the baby's mouth and then instantly flew off. I love the fluffy look of the young feathers and being so close I could catch the detail of the structure and colours in those feathers.

A little while later a male  and a female blackbird flew to the hanging sunflower feeder further down the garden. They have been very successfully feeding form the feeder by flying up to it and flapping their wings to enable them to hover so that they can then peck into the small tray to get the seeds. 

But ti wasn't long before  a male blackbird flew to this tray and delighted in standing in the middle of the tray and pecking all the suet pellets which I had added to the sunflower seeds. They can't use the same flapping and hovering approach to eat from the suet feeder, yet. It looked at me whilst stuffing itself, ending up five large pellets of suet in its beak having already taken a couple of other pellets into its mouth. It then flew away with a characteristic blackbird's squawk and I presume and hope it went to its nest to feed a new batch of young.

I should also add that I was delighted to see several nuthatches and a male and female bullfinch coming back to the feeders today. I had wondered where they had been for the last while. Having babies I expect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.