Anthony Quinn Bay

After breakfast we picked up our hire car which is a little Fiat 500 convertible, and we headed out to Anthony Quinn Bay which had been recommended to us. It’s a stunning bay, with such clear, turquoise water, and apparently several scenes from Guns of Navarone starring Anthony Quinn were filmed there, hence the name.

From there we drove to Rhodes Old Town which was really nice, and far surpassed my expectations.  We spent the afternoon just wandering round the cobbled streets within the old castle walls, stopping for a drink and an ice cream.  One of the bars we stopped at was run by a guy and his mother who didn’t speak much English, but who were very welcoming.  Mum was 70 and called Katerina, and I managed to get a photo of her as she was telling me about her plants and the grape vines.

We also stumbled upon a little jewellery shop, where I bought bracelets for Scarlett and Violet.  The guy was telling us that his son studied at West Glamorgan University and now works at John Lewis in Nottingham, but also has a website selling their jewellery in the UK. He was a very good salesman and asked what I was buying for myself and proceeded to show me a necklace with the Ancient Greek  ‘Helios’ symbol for long life.  It’s really nice and Alan bought it for me, and then the guy asked Alan to take a photo of him with me wearing the necklace and asked us to send it to his son.  

We got back to the hotel about 5.30pm and had a swim before dinner. It’s been a lovely day exploring and it was difficult to choose my Blip, so I’ve added some extras of the old town to my extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.