horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

I'm not asking for the Moon!

But only a week without rain. Sadly my request was denied. After weeks and weeks of dry weather, the drought has broken.

Time, just, for a short morning walk, and a quick shore survey by Mel (as I went looking for otters, and found some moon jellyfish stranded in rockpools - I liked the single raindrop ripple in this shot); as the rain strengthened the Piping College Café (highly recommended) filled to the point of no space; and so instead we grabbed some food back at the cottage and headed to Ullapool.

We had a nice wander, and the food from the Seafood Shack was immensely good. But save for that, there was not much in the day, save researching a return (for one week, with a week return to Lewis and Harris, which we haven't been back to for two years) next year.

Oh, and I wrote most of a poem about driving on single track roads. Might finish it tonight.

Oh x 2, and spent a bit of the morning, after getting up at 6.30 in the light and hearing a cuckoo call, sitting on rocks on the hill behind the cottage, without wildlife success; though later, as I grabbed a cuppa in the kitchen, heard the call again relatively close, and darted outside, I got some still-distant shots of him being mobbed by a little Meadow Pipit. Still good to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.