But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

You Learn Something New . . . .

Today was something of a day of discovery.
We’d bought a set-top box for the t.v. a couple of days ago so, yesterday, I went about trying to set it up. It seemed that I needed to connect the box to the modem using an ethernet cable before I could establish the wireless link. It was such a bloody stupid way to have to do it; I’d have chosen a different model had I known. Since the cable provided was only 2 metres long, I had to carry the t.v. table, with box and DVD player over to the telephone socket, do the necessary then carry the whole lot back again to reconnect to the aerial. No Wi-Fi connection. Repeated the exercise very carefully to make sure I didn’t miss something vital with precisely the same result. That was when the penny dropped, the ****** thing didn’t support a wireless connection. This is, I am led to believe, the twenty first century; who, on this side of the millennium, thinks it sensible to have a trip wire trailing around the house when the wire is more expensive than the Wi-Fi. I often find the need to point out to people that the reason that electronic gadgets come with a remote control is because that’s cheaper than putting knobs and switches on the gadget. It’s a real bugger because, while I can always find the t.v, I can never find the remote.
The man in the shop told us that “They all come like that these days” and gave a reason that didn’t fool my technical brain. Having had our money returned, we wandered around the shop and selected a model from the many on offer that does have built in Wi-Fi.
 
The second thing I learned today was about complimentary flowers; I only know because I made a note of it as I knew that it would be a few days before I posted this entry and, without said note, I would never remember it. I have this vague feeling that it is something to do with complimentary colours in Photoshop for processing flower pictures; but then again . . . . . .  It could well be that the geranium used for the Blip (don’t the bees in the garden love it) was the trigger.
 
The final lesson was over our weekly lunch at the flower emporium; I always order a small fish and chips these days as my indigestion system can no longer manage full portions of anything. It was Mrs TD that pointed out that the adjective only refers to the fish whereas, it might be preferable if the fish was the only item on the plate to which it didn’t refer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.