But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Roosting Pouch.

A few weeks ago I purchased this bird roosting pouch as I have seen them used by bumble bees. Today I buried it in the ivy that covers the fence separating us from our neighbours but not before lining it with some of Merlin’s fur. Bumbles are not able to line their nests so tend to use nests used by other animals: bird or mouse nests are very popular, hence the practice of stealing the bedding from a grandchild’s pet hamster. Not having such an item as a grandchild at my disposal, I improvise, reasoning that anything that carries animal scent may work. This is, of course, a long term project as no bumble bee is going to be interested before next April though, it would be a bonus is some small birds decided to use it for their winter roost. I believe that the highest recorded number of wrens simultaneously using a standard small bird box for an overnight roost is 86, so this should be quite capable of holding around 50.
 
Of course, it’s highly probable that it will merely spend the next ten years slowly decomposing, unused by any known life form.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.