But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Serenity.

It may not have been important but, yesterday at lunch, Mrs TD had a morsel of bread with her clear broth and, for desert, had a spoonful of yoghurt. By two o’clock she wasn’t feeling too good though she didn’t say anything for a while. It was eight o’clock when she failed to turn up to join the rest of us for the end of our dinner; it has been her habit to come and join in the conversation while partaking of a small portion of jelly with her otherwise liquid meal. That was when the penny dropped.
 
It was ten o’clock when I called NHS24, and 3:30 before I climbed into bed having seen Herself comfortably settled in Elgin Hospital. Having collected her this afternoon, she sat quietly in the garden doing patchwork while I tootled up the hill to the Land Girls’ Monument. I’ve blipped it before but it was pointed out by mine host that it was designed to be seen from a specific angle (see extra). I had never twigged as, when I approach from that direction, I’m normally at the end of a strenuous cycle ride and have my mind on other things. Now all it needs is a little evening sun to set it off – and, perhaps, a nice sky.

It has to be said that we were very grateful for the kindness and consideration of our hosts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.