Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Whitehall

Today I thought we’d maybe get a companion photo to the one of H in the Alden.   So….I gave him the bag with the camera with prime 35mm lens set for auto… I do use back button focus but I think auto supersedes that.  (H would not be able to do settings and it’s hard to see in the sun anyway.  AND…he is not very patient with photos!)  I gave him my iPhone also,.   so he started with the camera , but it quit after a few …oh oh full card??..  actually it wasn’t.   But the photos should have been sharper I thought.   So here is a crop with the iPhone…I thought it was interesting to put the beginning of the stroke (the “catch”) with the end of that same stroke (the “release”) together —you can see how far an easy stroke took me by looking at the rocks.   (Usually I have a baseball hat on but H forgot his so I gave it to him).. I also thot the tilt of the boat from sliding on the seat forward for the catch and then back all the way to the release was pretty interesting.  Can you appreciate that?   

Not exactly a companion BW photo tho’…maybe later a closer one with better camera. 

Info about this boat in a previous blip if you are interested,..,…  It’s very stable for me and the camera…but I do say it’s heavy and there is quite a bit of windage so I don’t want to be too far away in a big wind. ( unlike the very skinny little tippy boats we used to row)

The extra shows Charles Island where we were… all those Pigeon Gillemots live in those rocks..You can appreciate the cropping required. ..but I love the water in the uncropped.


Thanks for all the great suggestions for the kitchen floor yesterday…. one clear coat is on and the second soon to come…made soup to eat in the guest cottage tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.