Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Daveen and Mike

It's always lovely to catch up with fellow blippers, especially someone who normally lives so far away.  When I heard that amandoAlentejo had returned to Sutton for a few days I made contact and arranged a meet.

I got much more than I bargained for, meeting her daughters, including another blipper, Mishkid, as well as her husband Mike.  I also got taken into an area of Sutton Coldfield I'd never visited before, Newhall Valley.   I was even more surprised to see New Hall itself, a wonderful moated mansion, now a hotel and spa.  And I call myself a Brummie!

I was invited back to a lovely lunch with family and friends of home baked bread, home grown olives, along with cheeses and meats from the Alentejo area of Portugal, all swilled down with a local Portuguese red wine.  To top it all there was some left over cake from a party last evening.  If ever a cake was better named, chocolate heaven!  I've copied down the recipe!

It was an absolute pleasure and privilege to be invited over and enjoyed my time immensely, though it passed much to quickly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.