Bird On A Wire . . .

had to be the title today.  The forester and I had an enchanting morning at Kaiteriteri with blipmates Mrs Happy and Lizellen.  Last Saturday the ladies had had close encounters with Kereru and being the kind and generous blippers that they are they invited me to come over this week.  I was rewarded with I think three big kereru on the power lines or in trees.  The height of the power lines are a stretch for my 200ml lens but I'm happy with this shot.  It is the closest I have been to a Kereru.  They are our largest flying forest bird.  They were here to eat the flowers from the  Tagasaste or Tree Lucerne.  
A little further down the road the Kotare or kingfishers were  on the power lines.  They were feeding in the estuary but I was woefully slow to get a flying shot.  They would swoop down and swoop back up to a tree.  I think I could see the throat working to swallow something.   Exciting to see five of them.  The last extra is a Black Shag that I know nothing about.  I like its fluffy head and bright yellow eye.  
It was nearly the top of the tide and there was no wind to disturb the water.  It was a tranquil spot.  
We finished with a coffee at the cafe sitting in the sun and a view of blue sea and that distinctive golden sand.
Thank you ladies for a magic morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.