Plus ça change...

By SooB

Let the beau temps roll

Too sick to teach today. Mostly spent the day mainlining strong tea and moaning quietly. I think I probably read a bit too, but I'm not sure any of it stuck. I'm sure reading while I'm poorly is the main cause of my picking books up years later and only realising in the last few chapters that I've read them before.

I've been fascinated by barometers for years. My Dad used to sagely tap ours and say wisely "Rain's coming" or something. Of course he'd probably just seen the forecast or looked out of the window at the gathering clouds, but it seemed like some magical kind of fortune telling to me. I've still never really bothered learning what it all means, but I dutifully turn the arrow to the current setting every day so I can then stare at the change the next day and shake my head at the mystery before me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.