Plus ça change...

By SooB

Death flower

With Mr B here just at the weekends, eating us out of house and home (only kidding love), Monday is a restocking day. Also a chance to get all the food in for the week so there's only the joy of buying bread on the other days. All this lead me to a supermarket with very cheap chrysanths - so I bought two, thinking they would look rather jolly on the front steps.

Until I got home and turned my brain on, that is. The shops and markets are all full of cheap chrysanths at the moment as they are purchased by families to put on graves on All Saints' Day. Being the flower of death around these parts, I decided to bend to local sentiments and instead the chrysanths are gracing the back garden, out of sight. It is curious how a flower I see as such a happy bright flower is associated so strongly with death here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.