Style

In my tiredness last night I didn’t express how beautiful the Curonian Spit is. Pine trees. Sand dunes. Sea. Sun. It was like some kind of fantasy driving through it for mile after mile.

I was lucky to be there midweek and out of the peak season of course.

Today I caught the 10:25 train back to Vilnius. Another comfortable but slightly tedious 4 hours. Like most operators these days, Lietuvos Geležinkeliai gives passengers free wifi and charging points for the phone/laptop so as well as reading and gazing out the window at the world’s largest collection of trees, I had plenty to keep me amused.

Given a bit of time to think I realised a couple of things. First, everyone I came into contact with in Klaipėda and Nida was friendly and helpful. Everyone.

Secondly, all the services I used were top quality. All of them. Hotel. Restaurants. Car rental. The ferry company. Even the Circle K petrol station where I struggled with the automatic pump - the checkout operator came out and “coached” me.

My flights home are tomorrow, so the rest of the day was a mixture of taking it easy and walking about a bit to get rid of the stiffness of 4 hours on a train.

Today’s Blip was a simple choice. The best dressed passenger on the train. I decided this before I saw the rest of them, but it seemed like a safe bet.

The first Extra is the clocktower at the railway station. Whatever you think of the style, you can see it from a long way off. The other is just a street scene on my walk to the station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.