Kit's Year

By Kit267

Not Quite “Who Do You Think You Are”

A lovely treat this morning as we had a visit from my auntie and uncle from Australia as they were travelling from Scotland down to my Dad’s. My uncle (Dad’s brother) has been researching their family tree and although I knew some bits of information, it was really good to either fill in the gaps or get confirmation of what I thought I knew. We knew that we had Dutch ancestry but now I have a family name and a city of birth (Arnhem) for my great great grandparents. We have one branch, however, that we can trace no further as my great grandfather was a foundling at Dr Barnardo’s in 1884 so there is no known history except they think his mother was from the Chelsea Workhouse. He was obviously a special person as from such humble beginnings, he worked his way up to become Master Baker at Harrods. I know it’s not quite “Who Do You Think You Are” but interesting to me nonetheless!

After the grey start to the day and a short rain shower, this evening the sun came out to flood the place with golden light. I struggled to photograph this lichen, I think I need to start to use my birthday present from Sushi...a fancy new tripod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.