The view from here

The title track [The View From Here] is one of the band's best efforts, showcasing Bill MacCormick's headlong bass playing before sliding into an exhilarating ending that repeatedly shifts tempo, then catches its breath and soars, [before] abruptly ending...

We land early at Glasgow. I didn’t sleep well despite, or maybe because of, the Sominex and I’m feeling woozy.

Through passport control in no time flat and I’m on my drive home by seven. There’s a detour round Elsrickle and a sleeping Claire and Megan at home. Angus is somewhere in the Meldons playing DnB at unpleasant volume.

I doze on the sofa and then graduate to bed. Angus returns. Food and chocolate arrive - for an early Father’s day. Megan makes an amazing salad, complete with glazed mini tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, spiced dates, and assorted herbs. And Claire’s sears a couple of tuna steaks before slicing them thinly. It’s all a far cry from Dinner Ladies.

Megan needs a lift to Carluke station. I forget about the detour and so miss the chosen train. There’ll be another along in 20 minutes, so we sit on the platform, bathed in evening sunlight, and chatter comfortably.

On the way home, I finally take the road closure into account, and take a right at Carnwath through Libberton and then Elsrickle.

Angus has passed out. Claire’s getting ready to sleep. I see no reason not to join in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.