Wild and Wonderful

I didn’t have a lot of time and I got to the wetlands just after noon, so I decided to take a different trail which had some shade.  I walked for about 1/2 mile under beautiful old Live Oak trees dripping with Spanish Moss and then emerged into a dense meadow-like area that was just filled with green.  It was tall enough and my fear of snakes strong enough that I didn’t leave the path, but as I walked along my eye caught some purple in amongst all the green.  There they were, about half a dozen Passion Flowers.   I had in mind to get a wildflower shot today for the new Wildflower Week challenge hosted by Miranda1008 and initially I was disappointed that most of the wildflowers were no longer blooming, so I was tickled to find this. If you have time, please have a look in Large.  

After capturing a few images, I proceeded on and came to a very large lake that was teeming with wading birds and butterflies.  I was so annoyed at myself that I had never explored this area before in spite of all the times I have been to this nature preserve.  The lake was completely protected and there was not a house to be seen.  What a treat. 

Addendum:  I have used three different tags and the only one being picked up is WFW.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.