Susana

By Susana

The Day May Have Been Beautiful... But

I was surprised when I came out of my building this afternoon after lunch to find that the sun was shining brightly enough to miss my sunglasses. Just an hour and a half before it had been quite cold and dreary, sort of the way our day has been.

Andie is extremely sick again, as per usual. Her right eye is swollen shut and the left one is not far behind. I had a moment I'm not proud of, when I broke down and started crying. It all seems so unfair and I feel that after so many years of dealing with her constant health problems I am nearing my exhaustion point. Still, I shouldn't have broken down in front of her!

It helps to see that other people's lives go on. The kids in the daycare below my office were oblivious to anything going on outside their walled fortress. They were playing and having fun, not realizing that just outside that wall a whole universe is unfolding, some of it quite bad. Sometimes I wish I had the innocence of a child and the ability to be oblivious to a lot of things. But then I remind myself that I'm an adult and I need to try harder.

The bright day helps too. If it was gloomy outside I would probably be feeling much worse.

Hoping for a better day tomorrow, my birthday eve. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.