... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Kensington Gardens Squirrel

The squirrels in central London are bizarre: they're so used to humans that they beg for food and come right up close (/jump onto you), BUT they're also still spectacularly suspicious and skittish, and will flip out and sprint off if they think you're giving them an unfriendly look. They're simultaneously very gullible and very paranoid...
This one was eating berries in a yew tree (perhaps? I'm not good a trees...); I was not very far from it and it seemed pretty calm, but ever time I shifted it would tense up as if it was going to bolt off, before calming down and continuing its munching...

I went to Kensington Gardens with colleagues again at lunchtime; the light wasn't great (it was overcast...), and it was absolutely freezing and started to drizzle as we were returning to the NHM. Definitely not ideal, but I still enjoyed the walk and gardens, and got some nice pictures. I found it very difficult to choose my blip today: I knew that I wanted to put a picture of gulls on Blipfolio (because they were forming an amusing row on posts crossing the lake), but was torn between blipping this squirrel, and blipping an extremely beautiful grey heron which was standing on another post in the lake.
I decided (was I inspired by the USA election?) to let democracy decide, so had a vote at home, and the squirrel won. "It isn't a bird!". I've put the heron on Blipfolio too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.