Out for a walk (Day 1138)

With no big plans for the day, we had a slightly later start this morning. It was beginning to warm up nicely as we wandered up the hill with the woofers. The lack of wind meant the bay was like a millpond, a lovely unusual sight.
Back at home,  my beautiful wife started a bonfire as I got on with prepping the stone for carving. I use a clay wash over the surface, which allows me to see my pencil marks and remove them very easily. Once the wash was dry, I got the lettering drawn on before stopping for lunch.
We took the dogs through to Warebeth for a wander, and HV took the opportunity to jump on Brie and give her a bit of a turn out. Sigyn eventually calmed down and got used to walking alongside Brie. Talisker just tags along behind the horse, being an old hand at walking with a horse. 
Later, as HV burned more stuff in the garden, I made a start on the carving. It is always a bit daunting making the first mark on a bit of stone, I never know what the stone will be like to carve until I try it. This stone is really nice to work with, and I have made fairly reasonable progress in a couple of hours carving. The extra is a little detail of one letter, where a few lines meet from different directions. With luck I will have time to get a little more done on the stone tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.