Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Highgate Cemetery

Today I did something I have been wanting to do for years - I visited Highgate Cemetery, which is one of the finest examples of funerary architecture in the country. It is filled with wonderful Victorian graves in a nature reserve of wild plants and trees, and is quiet and peaceful it was a joy to walk around there with all the green trees and cool shade. We firstly had a tour of the West Cemetery, as access is limited to tours only as parts are so wild and overgrown that it could be dangerous. I then explored the East Cemetery on my own, and that is where you will find graves of famous people like Karl Marx, George Elliot and Malcolm McClaren. I took so many photos, it is a photographers paradise!

I am now home again but am about to rush out again as we have tickets for Swan Lake tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.