Mono Monday : : Square

My bookshelf is modular...made up of a series of squares and rectangles. It can be reconfigured in a number of different ways and was designed for me by Chris Loomis many years ago for my office in Berkeley. I think it was after the East Bay Hills Fire in 1991. We actually seriously considered moving to a new house rebuilt after the fire in the hills just above us, but eventually thought better of the winding roads and lack of exits which were a problem before the fires and never rectified. 

We talked about moving for so long that our friends and neighbors all thought we would never do it, but we must have been pretty serious when he made this for me so that it could change if we did ever decide to move...I liked the way this one square holds at least one other square...a picture of Will and OilMan reading a book together.  Here is a shot of the whole unit. The black parts are from Ikea because I gave my desk to OilMan.

IT's funny...the only comparison between our Berkeley Craftsman style house, built in 1907, and our midcentury modern ranch style house in Santa Rosa is the fact that they were both affected by catastrophic firestorms while we lived in them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.