Tiny Drops of Water...

...paint big pictures.

Up at 5:30 this morning dealing with the needs of an aging dog. Once finished with that I was awake so I just stayed up. On days when I really don't want to get up early but have to for some reason I am often tired all day. Today however, I certainly could have gotten back in bed but it was turning into a beautiful morning and I enjoyed watching the sun come up with a cup of coffee. The newspaper would have made the perfect trifecta but apparently whoever delivers the newspaper doesn't like to get up early either....

The swimming lagoon (or 'goose poop lake' as son Tim calls it) at Spring Lake is open, and they DO test and treat the water every day. One method of purifying it is to recycle it through a powerful geyser-like device which aerates it and creates some nice displays with the help of a blue sky and a slight breeze. I sat on a picnic bench and watched the life guards readying their surfboards and the inflatable waterpark for another day of fun.

MY friend Fran arrived with her dog Ziggy, a German shorthaired pointer with boundless energy and we set off around the lake. The good spirits and camaraderie produced by the beautiful weather were marred only once by a grumpy runner who had to slow down slightly to go around a group of dogs greeting each other across a rather narrow trail. She didn't seem to be going for a personal best but she ignored the proffered apologies, shaking her head and pursing her lips in disapproval. It's too bad she didn't seem to be uplifted by the weather or her run....

Back at the homestead, I had a shot at knocking down the dog hair a little, daring to hope that the storm is abating a little and Ozzie is looking less mangy. Then I sat outside in the sun watching the hummingbirds dive-bomb the hummingbird feeder. I thought I heard an oriole in the bamboo but never saw it...

I was so absorbed in watching the birds and enjoying the sun that I would have forgotten an appointment if I hadn't gone into the house for my camera and looked at the clock. Sometimes it's nice to get lost in the moment.... Hummingbird pictures tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.