Hello or Goodbye?

When we were in Los Angeles for Claire's graduation, she handed me a stack of Pipers, The Campbell Hall school newspaper. She's worked on and written for the school newspaper for three years and I'm quite impressed by the choice of subjects, the writing and the general layout of the paper. They've become a permanent part of the landscape of my nightstand, along with a stack of books, a light, a Kindle and some random exercise equipment. 

Today I was reading a recent issue and in the second  section came upon this story written by Claire about herself and her role at her school. I was especially amused by this quote, "While I understand that not every student loves the spotlight as much as I do, I truly believe that most girls at Campbell Hall are not scared to speak up, or at least they are not scared to speak up solely based on their gender....Some students have described me as bossy. While I do believe that I am bossy to some extent, I feel that if I was a male, I would be considered assertive...."

Claire is a talented, smart, beautiful, assertive, confident girl. She's also bossy....

OilMan, Bob and I had an interesting conversation at Trail House this morning about how we each define racism. What we all agreed was the fact that those who seem most guilty of it are also devoid of introspection, and we all know who I am referring to.....

Thanks to Laurie for hosting this challenge. I do find it quite challenging as I am not particularly drawn to mono pictures. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.