Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

So Happy Together

Imagine me and you, I do
I think about you day and night, it's only right
To think about the girl you love and hold her tight
So happy together - the Turtles, 1967

Well, if you know me at all, you know I can't really resist insects getting their groove on.  So, when I spotted these two tiny hoverflies (Syphidae) canoodling on the day lilies, I ran back inside, grabbed the camera and tracked them down.  They were apparently feeling a little shy because I only got a couple of shots before they flew off together - and when I say "together", I mean... together.  

I have spent almost the entire day inside trying to trouble shoot some technology problems between my PC, Mac and two new portable external drives.  My head was about to explode, taking out everything in the vicinity when I finally figured out the fix.  At least I think it's figured out.  I will test it tomorrow in "real time".  

Yesterday, after I blipped, I got to watch several of the House Wren babies from Box 5 fledge.  It was endearing and hilarious.  Every year we have at least 2 broods of House Wrens (and some years 4) and with over 10 successful nesting attempts, this is only the second time I've ever seen them fledge.  What a delight.  I put together a series of shots depicting the funniest events and put them HERE on FB as a public post.  Worth a look if you have time - and be sure to read the captions on the photos.

Happy to report that I am feeling MUCH better today!  The heat and humidity are both lower today, confirming my suspicion that yesterday's misery was weather-related allergies.  

Thanks to Jen for hosting Tiny Tuesday!

And, now off to make dinner and perhaps have a glass of wine.


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.