Cordoba to Madrid

An early start to take advantage of the free visit to the Mezquita between 830-930. Well, I wasn’t the only one... maybe naively but I certainly didn’t expect so many others would be there... at 10am there is a church service so we’re all out by 930. Too many people and while it was quieter by 9... well, don’t do it! It was nice to see it again nevertheless.

On my way back to my apartment I found a nice local place for breakfast. It was mainly (very sprightly, very happy) retirees. Inspiring. It must be the friendship and the copious quantity of olive oil they put on their half bread roll for breakfast. And where does the oil come from? The thousands of trees you see here in this photo, taken from the train on the way to Madrid.

A nice easy journey, a ride on the metro and I was at my next Airbnb for four nights. A lovely home in a suburb near the greenest park with the tallest of trees that I’ve seen in a long, long while. And the most lovely host!

I caught the bus into the centre, got some tourist info, had a walk, are some average churros and went back to where I was staying for some average tapas nearby.

I like Madrid. So grand, so green!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.