La Almudena, Madrid

The plan for today was to see the Prado, La Almudena, and visit the Royal Palace (well, one of them). Plan achieved! Remarkably so. 

I started at the Prado, after a good but expensive coffee, as is the way in art galleries. But nice just to sit there. The collection in the Gallery is amazing. Overwhelming, and it is a huge gallery to visit. Apparently, one must spend four sessions of four hours at a time to fully appreciate everything. Hmmm. Not practical if you're a tourist, so we did it in about three hours! But it all started to blurr. But hey, I was there. 

I then successfully got lost on the way to the Cathedral, but had a nice time doing so. Thank goodness for GPS, although I tried not to rely on it too much. It's a lovely Cathedral, not that big, and with a small exhibition explaining the various stages of construction. I also took the time just to sit and enjoy being there. 

Then it was onto the neighbouring palace. A good visit, not too many people, and nice to see how ornate a place could be. I'm not sure I could survive in all that frippery, but I probably will never have to choose!! 

Then that nice problem to have - where to eat. I wandered around in circles, walked across town, ummed and pondered, and discovered a place a bit of a walk away - it's a chain I later discovered, but a good one - La Mallorca - I got a nice cheeseboard and a glass of rose for not too much. And so good to sit down... I don't always find it easy to decide when I'm away, especially if I'm on my own. You take your chance and hope it's good. And even better, the bus stop to go home wasn't too far away.

I had a nice chat with my host, she gave me a glass of red and an ice pack for my knee. Just what you need in a good host. Then early to bed. 

I like Madrid. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.