Palace Gardens, Aranjuez, near Madrid

The day started early with a breakfast with a lovely friend whom I met in Istanbul in 2016 when we were studying our Delta. It was good to catch up with her, and we now have plans to meet at a friend's wedding in Egypt in August. It's ok to take friends to weddings, surprisingly, so we have decided to surprise our friend with her appearance. 

I asked her where I could go that would be quiet with some nice things to do so she suggested Aranjuez which is an easy hour by train from central Madrid. She walked me there, we bid farewell and off I went. We soon realised we hadn't taken a selfie, so another plan to meet tomorrow was prepared.

When I got off the train I felt a bit lost so started chatting to a young Korean man, guessing he might be a tourist too by the way he was checking his mobile and looking around. He was actually in Madrid to learn Spanish to deal with South American customers when he goes back to Korea. I asked 'why Spain' for his language lessons and the response was that it was the birthplace of Spanish. I get similar answers when I ask why people want to study English in the UK. Anyway, it was a pleasant walk to the Palace and we had a nice chat.

I liked the palace, very reminiscent of yesterday's in some rooms/areas, and enjoyed wandering around. Then I headed out to the gardens. Extensive gardens! Like paradise to this now desert-dwelling individual. Just sooo green with so many pretty vistas and paths, and fountains, and more trees and shrubs. I think I spent over an hour wandering around - good for the soul. I ran into the Korean man a couple of times, who also seemed to enjoy it. He took a tour in Spanish which he found enjoyable, but challenging. I also had a short walk around Aranjuez, it's a nice town with a fabulous square which was surrounded by palace workers' houses, and a church. Such a lovely square - an amazing space. 

It was then time to head back into Madrid, on a much busier train for it was Saturday night. I decided to eat near home because there were some nice cafes near the park. Unfortunately they were either busy, or not really open as not many Spanish places open around 6 or 7pm for dinner for that's far too early. I wandered back down the street and found another nice looking place. It seems the trend to have glass conservatory like buildings, with plants on the outside and us on the inside. They found space for me and I was well-looked after, despite very little language on the both sides. A nice dinner - just as nice for the experience as for the food. 

A nice walk home, then to bed. Loving the green around me in Madrid. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.