Rescued

It's not often a view is relegated to extras in the IntotheHills journal, but this cute little chap was, well, too cute.

The day started horrid and I resigned myself to a swim later. Then I settled down to the last of the Admin and some writing.
When I looked up it was turning much nicer, and by early afternoon it was glorious. So boots on and more steps.
Straight out of the gate and then along the lane and into Great Asby Reserve. I detoured via my favourite tree and startled (it was mutual) a huge flock of starlings. I sat and watched them swirl and dance until suddenly they shot to ground, invisible in an instant. Then across the shining stones and into the reserve, another favourite place, a place to amble and explore.


I found this little one chirping in distress in the long grass next to the wood at Broadfell, so I gently lifted him on the the moss covered wall, hoping height would give him an advantage. After a moment he jumped and glided into the wooded side, not quite able to fly, but hopefully knowing where his mum is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.