Tewet Tarn

Another grand day in the office.
Out planning some more walks for Friends of the Lake District today, a nice mix of beauty, nature and history.
Wandering through meadowland on a right of way that obviously never ever gets used I saw not a soul in these Northern Fells, and spent quite a while enjoying the biodiversity I encountered along the way. But at Low Rigg I heard the sound of falling rock, and found a group of Ramblers climbing over and then knocking down a stone wall - all to save the 10 minutes it would have taken them to follow the path round. You'll be unsurprised to know I went over and had a word. Mostly retired age, it was clear they did actually know better. I suspect they'll have ignored my strongly worded advice to rebuild the wall.

I sat quite a while at the Tarn, a spectacular place to look out at the Blencathra range, the air alive with dragonflies.

Home with enough time to write a (short, one page) magazine article and then dig up the first of the potatoes for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.