CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Spider on the sollya and a diffraction rainbow

I was looking closely at the first pretty flower on my sollya heterophylla, a plant which originated in Australia. It likes the heat and the dry weather but enjoys a good drink too. Its flower is tiny as usual but delightful and what attracted me to the plant when I first saw one in a nursery in Wiltshire many years ago. My first plant lived for about six years and once it died I searched for a replacement and found a good one last spring at a nearby nursery. It has survived the winter well but I need to give it some care and attention now, which was why I weas lloking closely at the state of its twining stems and the seed pods which are still hanging on the plant.

As I looked at the stems I saw this tiny spider on its web and ecidd to snap it. I didn't realise that i would also get this strange aligned rainbow pattern. I think it must be a type of doffraction effect from vibration of one of the web strings?

While I write this I've just noticed a kestrel hovering above the meadow on the other side of the valley. The farmer is threshing the hay which he cut two days ago. The birds are hoping to spot some wildlife running away from the tractor. The badgers returned last night and trashed our compost heap again, searching for worms. The also ripped apart an open bag of potting compost which also probably contained worms.  the dry weather is making life difficult for them as the ground is rock hard and the worms must be far below the surface. A drought is going to be very hard on the wildlife and there is a very hot spell of weather forecast for the next few weeks. Oh dear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.