remembrance of times past

D remembers us running down this jetty 37 years ago to catch a ferry to Leverburgh. I remember that we had been given a lift by a young man in a Land Rover with a dead rabbit in the spare tyre on the bonnet who had taken us to Barpa Langais where we sat inside the chambered cairn swigging from a bottle of whisky. Then at Leverburgh we were befriended by a young couple who invited us to share their supper of fish caught in the loch an behind their house. Happy days...

Today we left Berneray. We met Donald, the farmer who D had helped yesterday. he was wearing a suit and tie, off to check his calves before going to a funeral on Uist. We passed the funeral - over a 100 black-suited mourners lined the road in front of the house where it was being held.

At Lochmaddy we bumped into Alex, but that's a story for another day :-) We had coffee with her and then set off for a walk along the beach at Hornish.

In the evening we parked our van by this jetty. No ferries go from there now. It's just an old pier at the end of a single track road.

It was the longest day of the year and the one I had chosen for my June bivvy. Not dark at midnight when I went to sleep, and I woke at 3.30am to sunlight. Pulled my hat down over my eyes and went back to sleep :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.