The Last Peony

Dear Diary,

John and I worked on deadheading things and this one white peony, the last one standing, got inadvertently cut off.  I brought it in and put it in a dish of water, like a waterlily, and placed it on the breakfast room table where it immediately scented the room.  Later, when I checked on it, the light was striking it in the most beautiful way and I ran for the camera.

I felt very Georgia O'Keeffe-ish with this photograph.  The light and the petals were beyond beautiful to me.  This photograph reminded me of why I love photography so much, small moments of beauty captured and held forever.  Some of the dark pink peonies are still hanging on but I have a special feeling for the white ones that seem much more delicate that their more vivid cousins.  I won't be able to savor the smell in the months ahead (now wouldn't that be an amazing thing, cameras that record smells!) but that light on soft white petals is forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.