Memories Unearthed

Dear Diary,

Rhonda and Joe and I went to the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston last night to see an amazing exhibit of photographs taken by Henrick Ross who lived in the Lodz Ghetto in Poland from 1941 - 45.  He was supposed to document the people for the Nazis in a benign way for propaganda purposes but he secretly photograph the many atrocities committed there.  He buried the negatives in a box for he feared the Nazis would confiscate them and then, when the ghetto was liberated in January, 1945 ,he dug them up.

I was so moved by what I saw that it brought me to tears.  I couldn't help thinking about the persecution of the Muslim people now in America.  Will we see them wearing a patch to identify them as the Jews did then?  The photographs of the deportations of the Jews made me tremble with fear for what this country, the world, may be headed to.  But what gave me hope was in 1945 there was only Ross to tell the story.  Today, with social media, word can spread quickly and action taken.  It must never happen again to any peoples anywhere.  The stories must be told.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.