Today's Special

By Connections

New Kid in Town

There's a new Douglas Squirrel hanging out at the low bird feeder, easy to spot because s/he has a dark stripe down the center of her/his very long tail. We opted for the easy temporary nickname "Stripey" for now, and since this youngster's gender is not apparent, I'll use female pronouns.

Stripey quickly figured out what an easy meal could be had at our bird feeder, and did considerable cleaning of paws and whiskers after her lengthy mid-afternoon repast. 

Preoccupied with her tidying up, she suddenly noticed that I had advanced on the deck toward her (extras), and after a few tentative steps on the deck railing, Stripey froze in place (extras) for several minutes as I came within arm's reach of her, hoping I wouldn't see her. 

It finally dawned on her that I was very close to her, and she quickly turned tail and scurried away. I hope she'll come back again soon!

Here's The Eagles' 1977 take on my blip title. Seems like just yesterday... and a very different time, compared to what "new kids in town" are now experiencing as their families seek safer lives for their children.

Blip 1946

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.