Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Undaunted

I realised that most of the images I had shortlisted for today were purely demonstrations of the mighty zoom on the lens of my little pocket camera. Well I was showing that off, along with hand steadiness, a year or two ago with images of saily boats taken from my front porch. I think that Emmeline Pankhurst (acted by Phoebe Bullzini) leafleting the crowd about a public meeting on women's suffrage from a wire high above Wren's Naval College to mark the centenary of the Representation of the People Act deserves better.

Afterwards I went straight round to the Cutty Sark where I watched robotic tricycles writing the name of each of the 492 people who arrived at Tilbury on the Empire Windrush exactly 70 years ago today. The names were written in photoluminescent powder and would have been far more impressive after dark, but I'm not stopping out that late. I still have not reacquainted myself with just how long it remains light in the evenings here at this time of year.

There was quite a stiff breeze blowing all evening which was helping neither Ms Bullzini nor the day-glo powder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.