SueScape

By SueScape

"Edge III"

Saw the Antony Gormley exhibition "Subject" at Kettle's Yard.



Edge III [2012]
Size 191 x 52 x 27cms
Life size. Cast iron. Cast from the artist’s own body, like so many of Antony Gormey's other works. It appears to hover in space [in spite of weighing 630 kilos] and is meant to provoke a sense of uncertainty in the stability of the world.
[If I was sarcastic, I would say we can get that from watching the news!]

It takes an amazingly successful sculptor to be able to design his own exhibition for a gallery, with just one sculpture in each room. I love the way his mind works, but I'm not sure I could live with any of his works.

This is from the official blurb:



“SUBJECT’, installation designed specifically for Kettle’s Yard and Jamie Fobert’s architecture, offers a series of physical and metaphysical encounters, exploring our relationship to both space and our sense of self.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.