SILLY SATURDAY - 2001 : A SPACE ODDITY

I really can’t believe it this morning - my 2000th Blip is at the top of the Popular Page - and as one Blip friend told me “at the top of the Blip World”.  Thank you all so much - because you put me there.  I am completely overwhelmed by the wonderful comments, stars and hearts given to me yesterday and want to thank you all for taking the time to look and comment, not only yesterday, but many of you for most of my Blip journey.  I just wish I could meet you all together and have a great BIG BLIP PARTY!

So how do you follow that?  Well, if you said “2001” to many people, they would finish it off with “A Space Odyssey”, which was an epic science fiction film from 1968 - the year we got married - so I thought I would make a play on those words but changing the last word to “Oddity” - not that I think Mr. HCB is an oddity - perish the thought, one in the house is enough!  I'm sure you all know the theme from the film!

For several weeks now, Mr. HCB has been up just after 6.00 a.m. and out in the garden - well you know the score at this time of year (1) The Garden  (2)  Cricket  (3)  Me!

I have been telling him for sometime that the trousers he was wearing for gardening had to go, but he has hung on to them even though they are well past their best.  Today I asked him if he would be kind enough to model for me - whereupon he said that the fees had gone up, especially now he would be Blip Number 2001!  Honestly, I give him good food, stimulating and sparking conversation, treat him to coffee and sometimes wine and he still wants paying - some people want the world!

We agreed that a cup of coffee and perhaps a bacon roll at Jack’s would be sufficient compensation today and off we went out into the garden.  It is quite difficult from a distance to see just how much “space” there is in these trouser legs, but I think you get the general drift  - and to think that our granddaughter and young ladies like her pay great sums of money for trendy jeans just like this - unbelievable!

So here is Mr. HCB - my hero, wonderful helper, great model, provider of lush vegetables and fruit (including tomatoes, the debate about which we won’t go into here - i.e. fruit or vegetable?) and of course, my chauffeur - in his beloved garden and wearing his trademark Tilley hat.  

Mr. HCB, you are a legend - but I’m sorry, those trousers really do have to go - vintage, comfortable and trendy though they may be -  there is too much space and too much leg showing - and while you're at it, those slippers need slinging out too!

“Trendy is the last stage
     before tacky!”
Karl Lagerfeld


P.S.  We didn't actually open the bottle of bubbly, as Mr. HCB said we would have to drink it all in one go, as you cannot re-cork Champagne (I never knew that!) but we did have a very nice glass of white wine to celebrate - see extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.